HiSET Facts

The High School Equivalency Test (HiSET®) is a widely recognized alternative to a high school diploma.

The HiSET tests your knowledge in:

  • Writing
  • Reading
  • Social Studies
  • Science
  • Mathematics

If you have a documented physical, sensory, emotional or specific learning disability, you can apply in advance for special accommodations.


HiSET candidates are a diverse group, ranging in age from 16 to well past 60.

  • You may take the HiSET if you:
    are at least 16 years old
  • are not enrolled in high school
  • have not graduated from high school and
  • meet the state requirements for age, residency and the length of time since leaving school.


Millions of people like you have the taken the HiSET to continue their education, get a better job or to feel better about themselves.
Most U.S. employers, colleges and universities accept a HiSET certificate in place of a high school diploma.

Comments are closed.